12th International Workshop on Autonomous Self-Organizing Networks

To be held in conjunction with CANDAR'19.

Scope of the conference

The recent growth of high speed wired/wireless access and LANs, functional wireless terminals such as smart phones and tablets, and cost-effective sensor/tag devices increasingly stimulate the emergence of user-centric network services collecting and exploiting user-provided data. Monitoring and notification system of children or elderly people using sensor data is such an example. In order that the networks support these services in the flexible and scalable manners, multihop/relay technique involving user terminals will play a key role. From this perspective, mobile ad hoc and mesh networks, sensor networks and P2P networks have been attracting much attention. These networks typically consist of autonomous nodes without any central control and they should be self-organizing to handle the growing complexity of the upcoming networks and to adapt to unpredictable change of the network environments. Distributed topology management, resource management and routing are common research challenges in all these networks. The objective of this Workshop is to discuss new approaches and technologies in the field of ad hoc and mesh networks, sensor networks and P2P networks through papers. Particularly, we welcome papers describing protocol designs or performance evaluations both from theoretical and practical aspects, or describing observations and findings from practical experiments.

Suggested topics include but are not limited to the followings:

  • Network configuration and topology management
  • Cross-layer design and interaction
  • Energy efficiency
  • Location management, location based services
  • Distributed sensing
  • Network coding
  • Vehicular networks
  • Measurement from experimental test-beds
  • Cognitive radio networks
  • Medium access control for resource management
  • Scalable and robust routing

with respect to autonomous self-organizing networks including ad hoc networks/sensor networks/P2P networks.

Paper format

  • Regular paper: 5-7 pages
  • Poster paper: 3-4 pages

Submission Instruction


The conference and workshop proceedings will be published by Conference Publishing Service and submitted to IEEE Xplore and CSDL digital libraries. Also they are submitted for indexing through INSPEC, EI (Compendex), Thomson ISI, and other indexing services.

Special Issue

We plan to publish extended versions of selected papers from CANDAR main conference and workshops. Please see Special Issue for the details.

Important dates

Please see Schedule for the workshop abstract submission due and the workshop paper submission due.

Organizing Committee

General Chair

  • Hiroaki Morino, Sibaura Institute of Technology

Program Chair

  • Tomoyuki Ohta, Hiroshima City University

Program Committee

  • Takuya Asaka (Tokyo Metropolitan University)
  • Juergen Dunkel (FH Hannover - University for Applied Sciences and Arts)
  • Junichi Funasaka (Hiroshima City University)
  • Masafumi Hashimoto (Osaka University)
  • Ramon Hermoso (University of Zaragoza)
  • Naoto Hoshikawa (National Institute of Technology, Oyama College)
  • Atsushi Ito (Utsunomiya University)
  • Yoshiaki Kakuda (Hiroshima City University)
  • Shigetomo Kimura (University of Tsukuba)
  • Hideharu Kojima (Osaka University)
  • Kenji Leibnitz (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology)
  • Takaaki Moriya (NTT Communications)
  • Hiroyasu Obata (Hiroshima City University)
  • Masakatsu Ogawa (Sophia Univ.)
  • Satoshi Ohzahata (The University of Electro-Communications)
  • Hiraku Okada (Nagoya University)
  • Yasunori Owada (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology)
  • Chisa Takano (Graduate School of Information Sciences, Hiroshima City University)
  • Phan Xuan Tan (Sibaura Institute of Technology)
  • Yosuke Tanigawa (Osaka Prefecture University)
  • Kurt Tutschku (Blekinge Institute of Technology (BTH))
  • Ryo Yamamoto (The University of Electro-Communications)
  • Yoji Yamato (NTT)
  • Taku Yamazaki (Shibaura Institute of Technology)
  • Kiyohito Yoshihara (KDDI R&D Laboratories Inc.)

Steering Committee

  • Yoshiaki Kakuda (Hiroshima City University)
  • Hiroaki Morino (Sibaura Institute of Technology)
  • Atsushi Ito (Utsunomiya University)