9th International Workshop on Large-scale HPC Application Modernization

This workshop is held as one of co-located workshops of CANDAR'22.

The code size and complexity of an HPC application inevitably increase for exploiting the system performance as well as for simulating physical phenomena more faithfully and precisely. We have to invest more time and effort in modernizing such a large-scale HPC application code whenever a new HPC system becomes available. As the complexity of HPC system architectures is also increasing today, there is a strong demand for streamlining HPC application modernization. The International Workshop on Large-scale HPC Application Modernization offers an opportunity to share practices and experiences of modernizing practical HPC application codes, and also discuss ideas and future directions for supporting the modernization.

In particular, we will focus on the following topics of interest, but not limited to:

  • Programming models, languages and frameworks for facilitating HPC software evolution and refactoring.
  • Algorithms and implementation methodologies for future-generation computing systems, including manycores and accelerators (GPUs, Xeon Phi, etc).
  • Automatic performance tuning techniques, runtime systems and domain-specific languages for hiding the complexity of underlying system architectures.
  • Practices and experiences on porting of legacy applications and libraries.

Paper format

  • Regular paper: 5-7 pages
  • Poster paper: 3-4 pages


Workshop Chair

  • Workshop Chair Hiroyuki Takizawa, Tohoku University
  • Program Chair Susumu Date, Osaka University

Program Committee

  • Ryusuke Egawa, Tokyo Denki University
  • Toshio Endo, Tokyo Institute of Technology
  • Keiichiro Fukazawa, Kyoto University
  • Jing Gong, Uppsala University
  • José Gracia, High-Performance Computing Center Stuttgart
  • Shoichi Hirasawa, National Institute of Informatics
  • Yusuke Hirota, University of Fukui
  • Fumihiko Ino, Osaka University
  • Kazuhisa Ishizaka, NEC corporation
  • Yoshiyuki Kido, Okayama University of Science
  • Kazuhiko Komatsu, Tohoku University
  • Atsushi Kubota, Hiroshima City University
  • Seyong Lee, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Takeshi Nanri, Kyushu University
  • Kazunori Nozaki, Osaka University
  • Satoshi Ohshima, Nagoya University
  • Masao Okita, Osaka University
  • Kamil Rocki, The University of Tokyo, JST CREST
  • Reiji Suda, The University of Tokyo
  • Daisuke Takahashi, University of Tsukuba
  • Vadim Voevodin, RCC MSU