8th International Workshop on Large-scale HPC Application Modernization

This workshop is held as one of co-located workshops of CANDAR'21.

The code size and complexity of an HPC application inevitably increase for exploiting the system performance as well as for simulating physical phenomena more faithfully and precisely. We have to invest more time and effort in modernizing such a large-scale HPC application code whenever a new HPC system becomes available. As the complexity of HPC system architectures is also increasing today, there is a strong demand for streamlining HPC application modernization. The International Workshop on Large-scale HPC Application Modernization offers an opportunity to share practices and experiences of modernizing practical HPC application codes, and also discuss ideas and future directions for supporting the modernization.

In particular, we will focus on the following topics of interest, but not limited to:

  • Programming models, languages and frameworks for facilitating HPC software evolution and refactoring.
  • Algorithms and implementation methodologies for future-generation computing systems, including manycores and accelerators (GPUs, Xeon Phi, etc).
  • Automatic performance tuning techniques, runtime systems and domain-specific languages for hiding the complexity of underlying system architectures.
  • Practices and experiences on porting of legacy applications and libraries.

Paper format

  • Regular paper: 5-7 pages
  • Poster paper: 3-4 pages


Workshop Chair

  • Hiroyuki Takizawa, Tohoku University

Program Chair

  • Keiichiro FUKAZAWA, Kyoto University

Program Committee

  • Michael Bader, Technical University of Munich
  • Anthony Danalis, University of Tennessee
  • Ryusuke Egawa, Tokyo Denki University
  • Toshio Endo, Tokyo Institute of Technology
  • Jing Gong, Uppsala University
  • Akihiro Hayashi, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Shoichi Hirasawa, National Institute of Informatics
  • Fumihiko Ino, Osaka University
  • Kazuhiko Komatsu, Tohoku University
  • Atsushi Kubota, Hiroshima City University
  • Kiyoshi Kumahata, JAXA's Engineering & Design Innovative Center, JAXA
  • Seyong Lee, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Takeshi Nanri, Kyushu University
  • Satoshi Ohshima, Nagoya University
  • Masao Okita, Osaka University
  • Kamil Rocki, The University of Tokyo, JST CREST
  • Reiji Suda, The University of Tokyo
  • Daisuke Takahashi, University of Tsukuba
  • Toshiya Takami, Oita University
  • Vadim Voevodin, RCC MSU
  • Cheng Wang, University of Houston